archive-au.com » AU » V » VICSPIRIT.COM.AU

Total: 505

Choose link from "Titles, links and description words view":

Or switch to "Titles and links view".
  • WT20 Final Preview – VicSpirit V NSW Breakers - VicSpirit
    NSW Breakers 9 157 Poulton 76 45 Sthalekar 22 14 Koski 16 18 Haynes 2 16 Binch 2 38 Player of the Match Meg Lanning 2009 10 at Adelaide Oval VicSpirit 5 127 Villani 29 27 Cameron 27 30 Applebee 21 15 defeated NSW Breakers 75 Hunter 2 7 Smith 2 15 Binch 2 15 Player of the Match Clea Smith 2011 12 WT20 Statistics VicSpirit Most Runs Meg Lanning 406 40 60 SR 127 27 Jess Cameron 325 36 11 SR 123 57 Kelly Applebee 132 44 00 SR 103 94 Elyse Villani 105 15 00 SR 103 96 Danni Wyatt 73 14 60 SR 112 31 Most Wickets Clea Smith 10 wickets 16 60 Eco 6 55 Kathleen Hempenstall 7 wickets 17 29 Eco 5 5 Sarah Elliott 7 wickets 26 43 Eco 5 69 Julie Hunter 7 wickets 30 57 Eco 6 11 Kristen Beams 6 wickets 7 17 Eco 3 91 NSW Breakers Most Runs Leah Poulton 388 55 43 SR 133 33 Alyssa Healy 295 32 78 SR 132 88 Alex Blackwell 222 31 71 SR 115 63 Lisa Sthalekar 163 27 17 SR 117 27 Sarah Coyte 77 12 83 SR 113 24 Most

    Original URL path: http://vicspirit.com.au/news/article/wt20-final-preview-vicspirit-v-nsw-breakers (2015-10-07)
    Open archived version from archive


  • Two Vics named in Shooting Star Squad - VicSpirit
    news after a disappointing end to the domestic season with the DEC Spirit losing the WNCL final to NSW in a rain affected match Villani who was a member of the Australian team for the ICC World Twenty20 in 2010 will go into the series with experience and good form under her belt Lanning who is on fire at the moment with the bat will join the Shooting Stars after coming off the Southern Stars tour of New Zealand for the Rose Bowl series NSW Breakers wicketkeeper Alyssa Healy has been named Captain as part of the Women s National Selection Panel s aim to provide leadership experience for Australian players with Queensland all rounder Jess Jonassen named Vice Captain The Commonwealth Bank Shooting Stars squad members will meet in Sydney on 9 March for a two day pre series camp before travelling to New Zealand on 12 March The Commonwealth Bank Shooting Stars Squad is Captain Alyssa Healy NSW Vice Captain Jessica Jonassen QLD Sarah Coyte NSW Jodie Fields QLD Katelyn Fryett TAS Claire Koski NSW Meg Lanning VIC Beth Mooney QLD Angela Reakes NSW Megan Schutt SA Kara Sutherland NSW Gemma Triscari WA Elyse Villani VIC 16 FEBRUARY

    Original URL path: http://vicspirit.com.au/news/article/two_vics_named_in_shooting_star_squad (2015-10-07)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Injury strike VicSpirit stars - VicSpirit
    foot while Cameron had surgery after a knee injury VicSpirit coach Cathryn Fitzpatrick is hoping to have the pair back for the team s next home match against SA Scorpions on November 23 Hunter had a stress reaction and has been placed in a moon boot but has been able to continue training albeit in a limited capacity Fitzpatrick said Cameron has had a clean out on her knee and we are hoping to get her back for that SA match The absence of the two players will test VicSpirit s depth with the side already adjusting to the loss from last season s team of Clea Smith Annie Rose Maloney Danni Wyatt and Sarah Elliott Cameron is one of the form players in the world having been the second highest run scorer in the ICC Twenty20 World Cup and Player of the Match in last Friday s WT20 against Western Fury when she posted a blazing 44 from 26 deliveries The VicSpirit side will be looking for their two Shooting Stars representatives Elyse Villani and Emma Inglis to step up into the breach left by Cameron in the batting order VicSpirit play ACT Meteors at Manuka Oval on Friday

    Original URL path: http://vicspirit.com.au/news/article/injury-strike-vicspirit-stars (2015-10-07)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Full strength VicSpirit named for finals - VicSpirit
    while Villani is third with 286 at 71 50 The VicSpirit s bowling attack has been led by spin duo Molly Strano and Kristen Beams who have both claimed nine wickets each The winner of the Victoria versus Queensland match will meet the victor of the semi final between NSW and Western Australia in the WNCL Final at the SCG on Sunday VicSpirit will need to improve upon their last one day meeting against the Fire last month when they were comprehensively beaten with Queensland claiming a bonus point victory chasing down 174 for the loss of just one wicket inside of 28 overs VicSpirit coach Cathryn Fitzpatrick said she wasn t too concerned with the previous head to head meeting with Queensland We didn t make enough runs that day so we knew we had to take 10 wickets to win the match Fitzpatrick said We kept the fields up searching for wickets and attacked for longer than we would normally which allowed them to score easily Fitzpatrick is taking a lot out of last weekend s win over the top of the table NSW It was the first time this season we have put two halves together Fitzpatrick said We fought back well with the ball and despite losing consecutive wickets a couple of times with the bat I always felt like we were in control We haven t been able to back up with solid performances on consecutive days this season and we know we have to do that if we are to win the Final I think we have the players to do it it s just a matter of mental application Schedule 10 00am Friday January 11 Second semi final VicSpirit v Queensland Fire at Blacktown International Sportspark 2 10 00am Friday January 11 First

    Original URL path: http://vicspirit.com.au/news/article/full-strength-vicspirit-named-for-finals (2015-10-07)
    Open archived version from archive

  • News - VicSpirit
    TAGS JULIE HUNTER MEG LANNING JESS CAMERON 06 OCTOBER 2012 Southern Stars stumble en route to SFs The Southern Stars have stumbled en route to the World Twenty20 semi finals after suffering a seven wicket loss to England TAGS MEG LANNING JESS CAMERON JULIE HUNTER 02 OCTOBER 2012 Cameron guides Southern Stars to win Commonwealth Bank VicSpirit ace Jess Cameron has guided the Southern Stars through to the semi finals of the World TAGS JESS CAMERON MEG LANNING JULIE HUNTER 30 SEPTEMBER 2012 Australia off to a flyer Fine performances from Commonwealth Bank VicSpirit stars Julie Hunter Jess Cameron and Meg Lanning have helped Australia to a TAGS JESS CAMERON MEG LANNING JULIE HUNTER 28 SEPTEMBER 2012 Southern Stars depart for World Twenty20 The Commonwealth Bank Southern Stars will depart Australia this evening ahead of their World Twenty20 title defence in Sri TAGS JULIE HUNTER JESS CAMERON MEG LANNING 20 SEPTEMBER 2012 VicSpirit fine tune before season kicks off The Commonwealth Bank VicSpirit preparations for the upcoming season are in full swing after completing a pre season camp in TAGS 17 SEPTEMBER 2012 VicSpirit take pre season to Kyabram The reigning WT20 champions the Commonwealth Bank VicSpirit will head to Kyabram tonight as they fine tune their skills ahead of TAGS 14 SEPTEMBER 2012 A Spirited Journey Cricket Victoria in conjunction with the Victorian Women s Cricket Association will acknowledge the performances of all women TAGS 03 SEPTEMBER 2012 VicSpirit stars headed to World Twenty20 Commonwealth Bank VicSpirit stars Jess Cameron Meg Lanning and Julie Hunter have been selected in the final squad of 15 for the TAGS JULIE HUNTER MEG LANNING JESS CAMERON 16 AUGUST 2012 TAGS POPULAR ALL MEG LANNING JESS CAMERON ELYSE VILLANI JULIE HUNTER EMMA INGLIS SARAH ELLIOTT MOLLY STRANO KRISTEN BEAMS EMILY MCINTYRE BRIANA BINCH

    Original URL path: http://vicspirit.com.au/news/page:16 (2015-10-07)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Fitzpatrick: Application the key - VicSpirit
    matches because of rain said Fitzpatrick Other teams have had that advantage but we have heaps of time to recover and exploit every opportunity presented to us she said The Spirit s last set of matches resulted in disappointing outcomes for the home team The girls lost both T20 matches and the scheduled WNCL 50 over final rematch was a wash out We played really well in the 50 over match before the rain but in the end we were outplayed in the T20s said Fitzpatrick The Breakers had momentum and stuck to their game plan and we lacked presence which was disappointing Having Kristen Beams and Julie Hunter out of the squad due to shoulder injuries along with two senior players retiring the Spirit squad is going through a period of significant change We have had five changes to the squad since the first T20 match against WA and you don t expect that much rotation in a team in such a short period of time but it just has to be absorbed The younger girls stepping into the squad need to learn how to sustain any pressure applied and perform When asked about what the squad needs to work on to get back in form Fitzpatrick replied A little more application is required that s all The girls work so hard at training and their commitment is not the issue at hand We just need to be a bit smarter in the execution of our strategies and tactics and learn to apply ourselves for longer periods of time Fitzpatrick deems T20 as the future of cricket and thinks the girls need as much exposure as possible to this form of the game T20 is where cricket is heading The more experience the girls have the better Double headers

    Original URL path: http://vicspirit.com.au/news/article/fitzpatrick_application_the_key (2015-10-07)
    Open archived version from archive

  • VicSpirit cruise to victory - VicSpirit
    of that total knocking it off in just 18 4 overs Elyse Villani continued her stellar form of late with an unbeaten 58 50 as the Victorian openers put on 111 in 12 overs for the first wicket Fresh from her dominant Rose Bowl series Meg Lanning blasted 58 33 with her sixth Victorian half century coming up from just 29 deliveries WT20 skipper Emma Inglis chipped in with a handy cameo of 33 19 at the end of the innings to maintain the momentum set from Lanning s innings Earlier Kathleen Hempenstall 1 9 had set the tone for the day with a tight opening spell where she claimed Emma Thompson for nine Tasmania progressed to 44 without the loss of another wicket before Strano and Beams were introduced The pair limited the Roar s scoring opportunities and claimed wickets at the same time reducing the team to 5 67 The lower order of Tasmania provided a couple of cameos despite the best efforts of Briana Binch 2 37 and Sarah Elliott 1 41 The dynamic opening partnership of 111 took any chance of victory away from the Roar Though there was a slight hiccup when Lanning and Jess

    Original URL path: http://vicspirit.com.au/news/article/vicspirit-cruise-to-victory (2015-10-07)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Elliott set to return - VicSpirit
    side remains unchanged for the third consecutive round WT20 captain Emma Inglis said they were monitoring Elliott s return to the side We will just manage her back into it Inglis said Having a baby isn t easy but she has returned to training well and has played well for Dandenong The VicSpirit batting line up is in good form with Meg Lanning having struck 300 runs in four matches in the Rose Bowl series in the past fortnight and Jess Cameron having top scored with 66 56 in the final one day international on Wednesday Our top six is in good form with obviously Meg and Jess as well Elyse Villani and Kelly Applebee getting runs for their club Inglis said Tasmania almost defeated reigning champions New South Wales in the previous round and Inglis knows they will be no easy beats They have shown some good form this season and have some quality players Inglis said We will look to put in a similar performance to our last WT20 match when we were dominant against Queensland VicSpirit sit in fourth position on the WNCL table while they are second in the WT20 competition A revised finals system has been introduced in the WNCL this season replacing the traditional first v second singular final This year first will meet fourth in a semi final while second will meet third in the other semi final with the winners to meet in the Final Commonwealth Bank VicSpirit squad v Tasmanian Roar WNCL Friday December 21 10 00am Kelly Applebee C 3 Emma Inglis VC 19 Kristen Beams 26 Briana Binch 12 Jess Cameron 27 Sarah Elliott 23 Kathleen Hempenstall 18 Kirsty Lamb 14 Meg Lanning 7 Emily McIntyre 6 Molly Strano 5 Elyse Villani 2 WT20 Saturday December 22 10 00am

    Original URL path: http://vicspirit.com.au/news/article/elliott-set-to-return (2015-10-07)
    Open archived version from archive